top of page

Best First Date Ever

And what it taught me about life and love.



I can’t jump. I just can’t.


Peering down from the edge of the bridge, I glance at the strap around my waist and follow the bungie along the edge of the concrete ending precariously on this guys

rickety, not so impressive Chevy truck.


What the hell am I doing here?


It’s hailing. Hard. Which is unusual for Southern California. I’m cold, I’m wet, I’m hung over, and I’m standing with a group of people I had only just met a few hours before. We're gathered on the edge of a bridge under construction and abandoned at 6am. Next to me is the guy who invited me here last night, trying to encourage me to jump. Holy crap.


Little did I know at the time this moment would change me forever, that my life's trajectory would be altered. That two beautiful people would be born from this moment. And that the symbolism of not being able to jump would reverberate throughout my life.


The owner of the Chevy, Steve, had arranged this illegal, I might add, jump. Instructions were as follows: Jump! Once you leave the bridge, you're going to want to grab onto something.


"Don’t grab the bungie!"


OK, got it.


I glanced down one more time to see what I would fall into if the bungie failed. Not easy to see in all this hail, but there is was. Dirt. Not water, just plain hard muddy earth. Great. Hold on a sec, is this guys truck going to hold me? No worries there, the rest of the group has the strap and will pull me up after. Comforting.


After an unacceptable long pause, the group finally decided to just throw me off. I still have a picture of the scene.. 6 strangers holding me over their heads, my arms spread out like I’m about to take off in flight. From the other side of the bridge, they run and throw me off as I head first over the top. Out out out, then after a precious moments pause where everything

stopped, DOWN! I remember thinking it was cool the hail and I were falling the same speed.

Whoa!


The moments to follow were a blur. I grabbed the bungie, the only thing in the air with me. I had no choice, it was pure reflex. I’m falling and there is something to grab onto, grab it! Another symbolic moment. This will not be the first time I will grab onto something for safety, even if it’s not good for me.


"God placed the best things in life on the other side of fear" – Will Smith

So, what happened next?


Jesse and I were married for 20 years and had two beautiful kids. Steve, the owner of the Chevy, was the best man in our wedding. Who could have predicted that one?


I often think if I hadn't said yes to going bungie jumping with him, my life would have taken a completely different route. My kids may not exist at all. I would be a completely different person if I had deprived myself of this experience.


Although Jesse and I are no longer married, he remains a dear friend and an amazing father.


One of the lessons I learned here is this...


Just because something ends, doesn't take away the beauty it once had.


Looking back, I'm so happy I took the risk and jumped!


Love & Light,


Reina

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page